Review: La Flor Dominicana Oro

25 Jan

Litto Gomez has made quite the name for himself and La Flor Dominicana. His best effort, among the cigar lovers I hang with, has got to be the Double Ligero. Lovers of full bodied cigars sing it’s praises. As I inspected my local B&M’s humidor today I came across this treat, the Oro. It has been quite some time since I had a La Flor and as I had not smoked this yet, I quickly grabbed one. It comes in an attractive gold tubo and band. I was excited to see it was a chisel as I had not seen one before. The boys at the shop told me that Litto had copyrighted this shape and would only see it on a La Flor Dominicana. Great, even more reason to light this sucker up!

The Oro has a Nicaraguan Habano wrapper with Dominican fillers and binders and is 6 x 54. Upon 1st look it was veiny, rough and somewhat toothy. It’s pre-lit aroma had a pleasent tobacco earthy smell. The draw seemed just a hair on the tight side. It lit well and I was immediately hit with a strong peppery taste and minor notes of nuts. The smoke was plentiful but thin and wispy. The draw seemed average at best during the first 1/3.

photo

As I entered the 2nd 1/3 the burn got curvy and the draw loosened up enough that the smoke being produced was noticeably increased, but still thin. The ash was a charcoal grey and held on for a solid inch. The pepper mellowed out and to me, it was more medium to full bodied at this point. Maybe I’m more accustomed to stronger smokes but the Oro was losing some of it’s punch. I was also picking up more of a earthly-woodsy taste.

At the onset of the final 1/3 the burn got out of control and had to be corrected. In fact I had to re-light it several times, which is something I find annoying. At this point because of my continued re-lights the cigar got hot and I became disinterested in finishing it fully.

Considering this is a La Flor Dominicana I was a bit underwhelmed by it’s performance. While I’m confident that this wasn’t the sum of problems found in a Litto Gomez product, I can only go off my impressions and experience with it.

Early on I tweeted that this was a “great smoke”,  a bit pre-mature on my part. The most I can give is 3 ashes out of 5. (average) I would probably try it again, but because of the extra large selection of stogies to choose from at my B&M, it won’t be anytime soon. If you see it however, it may well be worth a go at it.

Leave a comment